top of page

Physics teacher Noah Shen leaves FHS


“My favorite memory from this year is when one of my students who didn't know my first name said loudly, ‘Noah is the name you give to your kid if you don't love him’ and his reaction upon finding out that was my name was priceless,” said Fremont High School physics teacher Noah Shen in a Discord message.

Unfortunately for Fremont, moments like this will become rarer next year. Having taught at Lincoln High School in San Jose previously, Shen joined the FHS staff this school year. After his first year of teaching physics at FHS, Shen will be leaving the Bay Area in order to seek out new opportunities. Shen attributes his decision to both the financial issues that come with being a single teacher in the Bay Area and his desire to try something new career-wise.

As for the future, Shen has decided to stay with friends in New Jersey and self-study coding. He hopes that his efforts will lead him to find a career in the fields of Graphical User Interface Design or Web Development.

“I already know a lot about coding from college, but I want to build my portfolio of projects so I can find employment with confidence,” said Shen.

Despite the fact that he has only taught for one year at FHS, Shen has already made a large impact on his students. By connecting with students through both physics and non-physics topics, he has created a comfortable learning environment for his students.

“I think something that made Mr. Shen unique is really how comfortable he made his students feel, not only learning in the classroom but also talking and joking around with him,” said junior Frances Mendoza. “I know for myself that learning about his interests at the beginning of the year and getting to know him as a teacher throughout the year, I could find myself coming to talk to him about a lot of issues and subjects that I don't get to talk to a lot of adults about.”

Just as students will miss the unique classroom Shen created, he will miss the unique FHS community as well.

“I will miss being around and connecting with students most of all,” said Shen. “I honestly don't know if I will be able to be happy without that, but we'll see! Specifically for Fremont, I will miss the feeling of being supported well by the rest of the staff. There are far fewer problems between staff at Fremont than there are at other schools.”

To his students, Shen leaves one piece of advice.

“Question everything,” said Shen. “Ask why something works like that. Ask why you believe what you believe. And most importantly, ask how you can be better.”

Photo courtesy of Andree Heyneman.

bottom of page