top of page

From Asia to America


In my entire family tree, I am one of the few to be born a first generation Asian-American. On my dad’s side of the family, I am the first child to have been born and raised in America. I cannot even begin to describe how lucky and honored I feel to be living in such a beautiful country. My happiness and bliss has been made possible thanks to the sacrifices made by my mother and father. It is only right that I share their stories and provide them the light that they deserve.

My mother was born in Vietnam on May 3, 1976—just one year after the Vietnam War, but chaos on the Vietnam terrain was still alive and well. North Vietnam assumed reign over the entire country, and with under its command, communism rose to unimaginable heights. My mother was one of the lucky few to escape and seek refuge in America. Because her dad worked for the American government as a lawyer, he was able to move the entire family to America. They all came to the new country as refugees.

“I remember coming to a place that I found very new and foreign” my mom said. “I felt very vulnerable and uncertain about what the future would hold.”

Coming to America at such a young age was one of the hardest challenges that my mom had to face. My mom first came to America with 4 other siblings. Some of her other siblings had came before her. However, her parents did not come until three months later. She had to learn the language and adjust to the educational environment. What made the entire journey easier for her was her sister. They did virtually everything together. My mom, being the youngest in her family, received the guidance of her older siblings.

My mom was quickly assimilated into the American culture. She loved Elvis. She loved Kevin Costner films. Interestingly enough, the pop culture she was exposed to helped her greatly with her English. English was by far the toughest subject for my mom all throughout high school, but with time, everything became easier.

“One of my favorite movies of all time was The Man who Would be King which starred Sean Connery and Michael Caine,” my mom said. “From that day forward, I completely fell in love with the American culture.”

My father was born in Taiwan on February 21, 1964. He moved to America at a much later age: 21. His sole purpose of immigrating was to attend graduate school at UCLA to pursue his degree in Computer Science. His older sisters had studied in America, and he followed suit. Unlike his older sisters, he stayed in America and decided to make a life here. Having learned English since elementary school in Taiwan, my dad did not have face as many challenges.

“The incentive for me was following the path that my sisters has taken before me,” my dad said. “There is no doubt in my mind I will forever enjoy the opportunities that I enjoy here.”

The education that my dad received allowed him to pursue an engineering degree and maximize his full potential.

Fast forward and years later, they brought two daughters to the world. Their hard work and their dedication to their education has allowed them to start a life here in America and establish a healthy and working livelihood. From the moment I was born, I never had to worry about having or having dinner on the table because of the unyielding perseverance of both of parents. They provided a better life for their children. They created a me, a family, and life for both my sister and me.

bottom of page